Posted on

can you grow weed out of hemp seeds

Industrial Hemp and Medical Cannabis Division

The Utah Industrial Hemp and Medical Cannabis Division ensures safety, compliance and equity to the industrial hemp industry by monitoring Utah’s cultivators, processors and retail establishments. This program ensures consumer safety and product integrity by approving products prior to entering the Utah market and verifying through inspections that safety and label standards are met.

Important news:

“To sell industrial hemp products, including CBD, hemp fiber, hemp seed oil, etc., Utah retailers must register for and maintain an Industrial Hemp Retail Permit. Click here for more information. “
  • Industrial Hemp Laws and Rules
  • Hemp Grower Licenses
  • Hemp Processor Licenses
  • Hemp Laboratory Licenses
  • Hemp Product Registration

Additional Information:

Hemp Retail Permits

The Utah Agricultural Code and Hemp & Cannabinoid Act was updated earlier this year to include a required industrial hemp retailer permit. Utah Code 4-41-1-103.3 and Utah Administrative Rule 68-33 outlines the requirements and standards for permit.

All retail establishments who market and sell industrial hemp products to include hemp fiber, hemp seed oil, or products containing a cannabinoid, including CBD, must apply for and maintain a current permit with the Utah Department of Agriculture and Food (UDAF).

To apply for a permit click this link .

The permit is $50 per calendar year.

Our inspectors will have an increased presence through the retail environment to ensure compliance with this new requirement. As a reminder, all industrial hemp products marketed, displayed and sold in the state of Utah must be registered with UDAF. Attached is an information flyer to better assist with applicable laws and administrative rules governing the sale and marketing of industrial hemp products.

To update your Retail Permit please fill out this form .

Here are the directions as well to finding the application:

– Online Services
– License/Permit Renew
– New License/ Permit Application
– Scroll Down Select 8003

Licensed Grower Reports and Information

Starting July 1st, 2020, Official Sample Tests will be billed at $65.00 per test and $65.00 per hour to sample. Samples will be taken of each lot to verify as industrial hemp. Lots are a contiguous area in a field, greenhouse, or indoor growing structure containing the same variety or strain of cannabis throughout and is defined by a maximum of 25,000 plants or 10 acres and planted within a two-week time frame. All work performed for the sampling of lots will be billed at a minimum of one hour, then in fifteen (15) minute increments after the first hour. Lab sample reports will not be released until payment has been received.

Required Forms for Growers Licenses:
  • As you move plant material (propagules, seeds, starts, transplants, etc.), complete the required Transportation Permit form within five (5) days of moving the hemp plant material.
    Transportation Permit
  • As you prepare to plant your Hemp Crop, complete the required Planting Report form within ten (10) days of seeding or transplanting.
    Planting Report
  • As you approach thirty (30) days before harvest, complete the Hemp Harvest Report Sample Request form and allow 5 days for an inspector to schedule a sampling inspection.
    Hemp Harvest Report Sample Request
  • Thirty (30) days after completion of harvest the licensee shall submit a Production Report.
    Hemp Production Report
  • To update your license please fill out this form
Commonly Asked Questions:

Can I store hemp material in my home?
No. Per R68-24-7 hemp material is not allowed in residential homes. All material must be kept in approved Storage and Grow locations.

How do I sell my hemp biomass to Medical Marijuana Dispensaries?
Based on strict growing requirements, hemp material can be sold to Medical Cultivators in Utah. It cannot be sold directly to dispensaries in Utah. Please see instructions below on how to initiate a Hemp Waste Transfer.

Can I transport hemp material without a permit?
No. All hemp transport (including seeds) must be applied for and documented with a transportation permit.

Required Grower Sign:

The signage shall include the following information:

A) The statement, “Utah Department of Agriculture Industrial Hemp Research Pilot Program”
B) The name of the licensee
C) The Utah Department of Agriculture and Food licensee number; and
D) The Department’s telephone number. (801-982-2206)

How to Sell to Medical Cannabis Cultivators and Processors:
  • Due to the strict requirements for cannabis flower in the medical market, we highly recommend arrangements be made at the start of the hemp growing season with medical cannabis cultivators.
  • Industrial hemp cultivators and processors can sell industrial hemp waste to a medical cultivator and individuals can cultivate and process industrial hemp if they are licensed by the department.
  • A certificate of sale is required for each transfer of “industrial hemp waste” to a medical cannabis cultivator.
  • Please review all informational material below before submitting a certificate of sale application
  • Example “Certificate of Sale” Application – Use example to gather all required information
  • Hemp Waste Certificate of Sale Application – Allow 10 Business Days for Form to be processed

Licensed Processor Reports and Information

R68-25-7. Required Reports

1) A licensee shall submit a completed Production Report on a form provided by the department by December 31st.
2) A licensee shall submit a report of the results of the research as set forth in the research plan by December 31st.
3) The failure to submit a timely completed form may result in the denial of a renewal license.

Click here to file a Production Report .

R68-25-12-2 Transportation of Industrial Hemp Material

An industrial hemp transportation permit is required for each day and each vehicle used to move industrial hemp or industrial hemp products.
Click here to apply for a Transportation Permit .

To update your license please fill out this form .

  • Industrial Hemp Cultivators and Processors Can sell Industrial Hemp Waste to a Medical Cultivator and Individuals can cultivate and process industrial hemp if they are licensed by the Department.
  • A certificate of sale is required for each transfer of “Industrial Hemp Waste” to a Medical Cannabis Cultivator.
  • Please Review all informational material below before submitting a Certificate of Sale Application.

Example “Certificate of Sale” Application – Use example to gather all required information

Hemp Waste Certificate of Sale Application – Allow 10 Business Days for Form to be processed

Industrial Hemp Transportation Permit Information

Fill out this application to log the transportation of hemp material.

A response will be sent as a virtual hemp transportation permit, which allows a permit holder the ability to transfer industrial hemp products on public roads in Utah.

A licensee shall not sell or transfer living plants, viable plants, viable seeds, leaf material, or floral material to any person not licensed by the department or to any person outside the state who is not authorized by the laws of that state. R68-24-9 (1) An industrial hemp transportation permit is required for each day and each vehicle used to move industrial hemp raw material. R68-25-12 (2) and R68-24-8 (3)

Valid purposes of transportation include; purchase or sale of hemp material, sample submissions, movement between storage locations, and conferences, educational purposes, or conventions.

Industrial Hemp FAQs

What is Industrial Hemp?

Cannabis Sativa L. that has less than 0.3% THC. Industrial hemp products include, but are not limited to CBD products, hemp fiber, hemp seed oil, etc.

What is Medical Marijuana?

Marijuana is cannabis that contains over 0.3% THC.

How are they the same and how are they different?

Industrial hemp and medical cannabis come from the same plant genus. This is similar to the difference between sweet corn and field corn, while both are corn, the purposes are different. Both industrial hemp and medical cannabis products look similar and contain many of the same chemical compounds, however, the concentration of compounds in the two plant species can be vastly different. The legal difference is the amount of Tetrahydrocannabinol (THC) the plant contains. If the cannabis plant contains more than 0.3% THC it is considered medical cannabis or marijuana.

Why is the Department of Agriculture and Food Involved?

The Utah Department of Agriculture and Food was identified as the department in the best position to provide regulatory oversight for the identification, cultivation, processing, testing, and distribution of hemp-based products.

Can I Buy CBD products in Utah?

The purpose of the law is to make sure the product being sold is free from harmful contaminants and matches the label requirements. The Department has established rules for the sale and purchase of CBD oil in the state. CBD oil registered with the Department, meeting all testing, labeling and other requirements as established by rule, may be purchased in Utah.

Complaint Form

Please fill out this form if you have questions or concerns regarding growers, processors, retail establishments, or products of industrial hemp. If you choose to remain anonymous it may be difficult to collect enough information to begin an investigation or follow-up. Once a complaint is submitted, the UDAF Cannabis Program staff will evaluate your complaint to determine if sufficient information exists to proceed.

How to Grow Hemp

“Sooner or later, somebody is going to make a joke about you getting high,” says Brennan Gilkison, a 42-year-old hemp farmer in central Kentucky who has no interest in getting high. For centuries, American farmers grew hemp for fiber, oil and many other uses. George Washington cultivated it at Mount Vernon to mend fishing nets. Gilkison’s crop goes into products containing cannabidiol, or CBD. People still titter. Practice your explainer, which should go something like this: Marijuana and hemp are varieties of the same species of cannabis plant, but hemp contains less than 0.3 percent of the mind-altering tetrahydrocannabinols, or THC, and will not get you high. “You become an educator,” he says. (Third graders visit his farm on field trips.)

Don’t sow any seeds until you’ve researched state and federal regulations. The 2018 Farm Bill contained provisions legalizing hemp production, but you still need a license to grow it. Plant in an inconspicuous location. Gilkison knows a farmer who lost much of his crop to thieves who, he suspects, were selling his hemp buds mixed with marijuana. “If you want something that’s going to yield good, put it on good ground,” he says. He prefers deep, humus-rich soil. Hemp seeds contain sex chromosomes that produce male and female plants. For CBD, you’ll want to keep only the more robust females. Either weed out the male seedlings or plant female-only clones.

Put your seeds or starts in the ground in late spring and harvest in the fall. Weeds will be your biggest challenge. “We’ve weeded by hand, with machines, even with fire,” Gilkison says. Because, he says, he can’t use herbicides or pesticides on his hemp, Gilkison spends much of the growing season battling back pigweed, Johnson grass and crab grass. Prune the maturing plants to force them to produce more buds (some farmers use tobacco topping machines to mow the upper vegetation). Some growers in Kentucky have recently turned land over from tobacco to hemp. “Everywhere you look, it’s CBD this, CBD that,” Gilkison says. The money has been good, and a giddiness has taken hold, thanks to this plant that has been effectively prohibited since the 1937 Marijuana Tax Act. “It’s the first time in our lives that we’ve had a new crop and had to learn how to grow it,” he says.